Lueg Tech

Bill Lueg’s Tech Blog

This is tech!

with 2 comments

Welcome to my new blog! I’ll be posting things of a technical nature, especially as they concern personal computers, gadgets and how they make our lives easier. In my own personal life, I am always looking for ways to integrate technology seamlessly into my experience to make life easier and more fun. I also dislike paper immensely. It takes up space, it clutters the world and you can’t do an instant global search on it without examining every scrap. That’s what computers are for! 

So yes, I’m the guy at church who brings his MacBook instead of his Bible so that I can follow more what the pastor or teacher is saying, take notes and look up other external references in my Bible study software. I know there are more of you nerds out there. Take heart! I hope you find this interesting and maybe you can contribute something too. 

My current projects include putting Mac OS X 10.5 Leopard on my Mirror Door PowerMac G4. Leopard was already on my MacBook and so I’m testing out Back to My Mac and screen sharing. I’m also putting every operating system feasible on my MacBook. I’m running Windows XP Pro and Ubuntu 7.10 alongside Leopard. XP has it’s uses, but I mainly use it to support friends who call me with questions. What’s impressive is that on this 2.2 GHz Core 2 Duo based MacBook, XP is running faster in emulation than it was natively on the 3GHz PCs I’ve been supporting at work. In fact, the Mac seems to be a more stable platform for running Windows than native Wintel PCs. Windows installation is definitely easier and requires less baby-sitting! 

Ubuntu is a curiosity more than anything. It’s a flavor of Linux, but my Mac already runs FreeBSD Unix so it’s a not-quite-as-nice redundancy mostly. Still, it’s good to know how to do things at the nuts and bolts level.  

I’m also installing an ethernet gigabit network in my home. Yes, wireless is easier, but wired is faster (right now) and when I try to move huge files off my Tivo or among my computers, this should pay off nicely. I have an Airport Extreme gigabit router/switch in the middle of everything right now which should be sufficient for my single occupant household. 

I’m also helping a friend set up a Windows media server running Windows Vista Ultimate. We may be running into issues in that his 3.0 GHz hyperthreading CPU could be a limiting factor. He wants it to be his one stop shop in playing Blu-Ray, HD-DVD as well as it’s being an HD PVR. (Personally, I’ll be doing a Mac Mini based solution which may prove to be a cheaper and easier way to go if our experience so far is any guide. Oy vey!)

Finally, as I write late at night, I’m installing Windows Vista Business on a Boot Camp partition of my MacBook hard drive (it’s pretty big at 250 GB). This will allow me to boot into either the Mac OS or Vista. VMWare Fusion may also allow me to run it along-side Leopard simultaneously as above, but I’m doubtful. I’ll be reporting on that as well. 

In the near future, I’m going to set up a Windows 2003 server as a domain controller and have all my Macs and PCs authenticate to it. In the meanwhile, I want to see how easy Leopard and my .mac account will let me easily share among the Macs in and out of the house (!) since that is my primary platform. 

There is much more I can think of so there’s more to talk about. Tune in. I hope you’ll find it interesting. Feel free to comment me with your questions and I’ll post solutions on-line. I think I’ll also set up a mail box for the purpose, but right now, I’m going to bed! 

Written by walueg

May 26, 2008 at 6:36 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. but can you play age of empires?

    AOEIIexpan

    May 27, 2008 at 2:02 am

  2. Yes, I can, but I choose not too. 😉

    walueg

    May 27, 2008 at 4:53 am


Leave a Reply

