Lueg Tech

Bill Lueg’s Tech Blog

Plaxo and MobileMe: Don’t Do It!

with 3 comments

There is a poplular address book / social site called Plaxo which attempts to sync your information on your PC or Mac with your social network. It seems pretty cool as a social network, but I don’t want everyone I know on earth to reside in my address book and phone. I don’t want to filter through all those people I’m not likely to want to talk to on a regular basis. Nothing against them. They’re nice people. But I like getting to information quickly when I’m out in the world.

But the real kicker, and the motivation for this post is that if you use another address book syncing service like MobileMe, you’re likely to end up with whole duplicate calendars as things start syncing with each other. So my advice is to pick one and stick with it.

Written by walueg

July 18, 2008 at 7:18 am

Posted in technology, Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I agree with you on this. Not only is it a hassle having to scroll through 100+ names but Plaxo is notorious for sending out emails to everyone in your address book without your permission. I did not know this until people started replying to me asking that I not send this to them. I allowed it to import my email address book and then it automatically generated emails to my entire address book inviting them to join on my behalf.

    Nice post,
    Paul

    Paul L. McCord Jr.

    September 13, 2008 at 6:56 pm

  2. Regardless of whether or not you are syncing with Plaxo or MobileMe, you never have to sync your entire address book with your iPhone – in your sync options, you can select to sync either your entire contact list or selected groups from your Address Book; a very easy way to manage who makes it on your phone.

    I do use Plaxo for my personal use and really love when one of my contacts updates their infomation (phone, email, whatever) that it automatically shows up on my iPhone without me having to think about it (since I cradle and sync my iPhone every evening). Full disclosure, I work on Plaxo for Mac for Plaxo so no wonder I use it – but nothing else out there enables this seemless experience so…

    I would really appreciate a follow up from P. McCord regarding his belief that Plaxo is sending out unsolicited emails to his address book. Plaxo does not engage in the kind of behavior he describes and I would like to learn from him why he believes that we do. If he would care to follow up with me he can reach me at: drew (at plaxo.com)

    -Drew

    Drew Colace

    October 16, 2008 at 6:39 am

  3. In Paul’s defense, for Plaxo to work for me with my approximately 100 contacts, I was getting a lot of email from Plaxo that I didn’t want. It was more hassle than it was worth. Plus, as I recall, people in my address book were getting emails from Plaxo asking them to join. He may have missed a check mark. I know I was getting them from Plaxo when my name was in someone else’s address book. I felt very uncomfortable that my information was more public than I desired. Who owns that information?

    Finally, your suggestion that I only sync certain groups in my address book with MobileMe makes no sense. Maybe it reduces the problem of address duplication, but it doesn’t eliminate it. My solution stands: Either use one service or the other. I recommend MobileMe.

    walueg

    October 16, 2008 at 2:43 pm


Leave a Reply

