Lueg Tech

Bill Lueg’s Tech Blog

Mac Home Media Center, Part 2

leave a comment »

In my last post, I was setting up a new media center computer on my recently acquired Mac Mini. Currently, it is up and running with Front Row accessing all media in iTunes including movies, TV shows and of course music. The next step was to view streaming media from web resources like Netflix and Hulu.

There are a couple of options for this. One is Boxee, but I discounted that because of Hulu’s recent decision to disallow them from using their content on large TVs at the behest of the content providers NBC and Fox. [Excuse me, but this ain’t your daddy’s TV audience. We like watching at our convenience and not yours. It’s up to you to get in line with your audience, not the other way around! You need to stop treating your consumers like the enemy!] I’ll give Boxee some more attention later. The other option is Google Labs’ Understudy.

Understudy is still in early development it seems. In no case was I able to get a full screen view of my programming, nor was I able to rewind a bit to catch something I missed. So for now, I’ll be viewing those sources through the Safari web browser on the mini. At least I can watch from the couch and not my desk.

Tivo is a much better platform for watching streaming video on your main TV. It was pretty trouble free and the quality was much better than I was able to get straight from a browser. But as Netflix’s content is still very limited, I’m not too concerned about this at present.

Let’s not forget streaming new media, i.e. youtube. Now this works. Recently, they started allowing and showing HD content and boy, does it look good! You can watch it full screen just fine from a browser.

So for the time being, we’re still a little stuck for streaming video, but give it time. Tomorrow, I should receive my Tuner and so I’ll install it and report on the results.

Written by walueg

February 26, 2009 at 11:44 pm

Posted in technology

Leave a Reply

